Westborough Board of Selectmen Meeting Minutes July 29, 2015

6:30 p.m. – 7:36 p.m.

Present: Chairman Barrette, Vice Chairman Drewry, Selectmen Goldblatt and Johnson

Also Present: Jim Malloy, Town Manager, Kristi Williams, Assistant Town Manager/HR Director

Executive Session

Selectman Drewry's motion to enter into Executive Session at 6:31 p.m. under MGL Ch. 30A, §21(a)(2) to conduct strategy sessions in preparation for negotiations with non-union personnel and to conduct contract negotiations with non-union personnel was seconded by Selectman Goldblatt.

A Roll Call Vote was taken: Selectman Johnson – yes; Selectman Goldblatt – yes; Selectman Barrette – yes; Selectman Drewry – yes.

The Board reconvened in Open Session at 7:29 p.m.

Interim Fire Chief

Selectman Barrette noted that the Board had voted to appoint Chief Alan Gordon as the Interim Fire Chief at the last meeting and the Board worked with Chief Gordon in Executive Session on an addendum to his contract.

Selectman Drewry's motion to amend the present contract between the Town and Alan Gordon to \$700 per week during the term as Interim Fire Chief and to allow details on an as needed only basis was seconded by Selectman Johnson. Selectman Goldblatt noted that she will not vote for the motion, which has nothing to do with Chief Gordon personally, but because she disagreed with the process. Vote: 3-1 (Goldblatt)

New Fire Chief Selection Committee

Selectman Barrette reviewed the list of five people who applied to be on the selection committee. They are: Dexter Blois, Leigh Emery, Don Hall, Calvin Lawrence and Wendy Mickel.

Selectman Goldblatt's motion to appoint the five people on the list as read by Selectman Barrette including the Town Manager and Selectman Johnson to make it a committee of seven members was seconded by Selectman Drewry. Vote: 4-0

Selectman Goldblatt thanked Chief Perron for his 46 years of service to the Town and that the Town was lucky to have someone so dedicated in its employ.

Adjournment

Selectman Johnson's motion to adjourn at 7:36 p.m. was seconded by Selectman Goldblatt. Vote: 4-0

mitted by Paula M. Covino		
Chairman Barrette		Vice Chairman Drewry
Selectman Goldblatt	Selectman Johnson	Selectman Dodd